View Article
Current ArticlesArchive
« Back Post Date: Thursday, January 13, 2011
Orange Bowl @ Coral Reef YC
NHYC members compete


Miami, FL (December 30, 2010) Between giving the sailors a taste of all kinds of Miami Biscayne Bay weather conditions, the raffle prizes for everyone and the 99 regatta trophies, everyone won at the Orange Bowl. Coral Reef Yacht Club put on another great show assisted by Shake-A-Leg Miami, the US Sailing Center Miami and Biscayne Bay Yacht Club.

The last day of the regatta began with light winds and only the Optimist Green Fleet, Lasers and 420s managed to get off a race. This means that Sean Brennan from Miami won the top trophy for the 218 boat Optimist Red/Blue/White fleet. He was also the top Blue Fleeter in the 11-12 age range. In second place overall was Red Fleeter Victor Migraine from Normandy, France who also won the Red Fleet. Top girl Martina Sly won 3rd place overall. She is from Weston, FL. In the older (ages 13 - 15) Red Fleet, after Victor and Martina, Ty Ingram from New York placed third in Red. Following Sean Brennan in the Optimist Blue Fleet, in second place was Connecticut’s Jack Parkin and in 3rd, Romain Screve from California. The top Optimist White fleeter fleet is Miamian Ivan Shestopalov in 17th place overall, followed by France’s Alexandre Boite, and JC Hermus from New York. The 420s were our only two sailor boat in the Orange Bowl. Leading the entire regatta was Antoine Screve from California and his crew Mac Agnese from Ft. Lauderdale, Fl. In second place was brother and sister team Kirk and Hayley Korbin from California. Texans Forrest Short and Daniel Ron held on to finish 3rd in 420s. The Laser course got in a good race today. In the big Laser Radial fleet, Jonathan Martinetti from Ecuador won 1st place. Avery Fanning of South Carolina was second and Germany’s Maximillian Stein was 3rd. The top Laser Radial girl was Erika Reineke of Ft. Lauderdale, FL. In Laser 4.7, St. Pete’s Brendan Shanahan finished 1st followed by Eliot Caple from Naples, FL and Courtney Lehan from Tampa, FL. The big guys in the Laser Full Rig class sailed hard. Palm City, Florida’s Eric Lawrence took 1st place. William Bailey from St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands was 2nd and Canadian Iain Wilson finished 3rd.

The Magnus Liljedahl Sportsmanship Trophy was given to Madeline Rice in the Opti Green Fleet. After having a good start, she went back to help a fellow sailor who had capsized below the starting line. The capsized 7 year old sailor spoke only French and Madeline was able to help her as she is bilingual. Madeline sacrificed her score to help her fellow sailor feel safe.