

2014 – 2015 NHYC Winter Series NOTICE OF RACE

OA: Newport Harbor Yacht Club

1. RULES

- 1.1 This series will be governed by the *rules* as defined in the Racing Rules of Sailing.
- 1.2 For all Harbor 20 boats:
 - a.) The H20 Fleet 1 By-laws (www.harbor20.org) will also apply.
 - b.) RRS 44.1 and 44.2 will be modified. This change will appear in full in the sailing instructions.
- 1.3 US Sailing prescriptions 60, 63.2 and 63.4 will be deleted.

2. ELIGIBILITY AND ENTRIES

- 2.1 This series is open to all Harbor 20, Lehman 12 and Finn boats.
- 2.2 The Harbor 20 (H20) class will have three (3) divisions, A, B, and C. The Lehman 12 (L12) class will have two (2) divisions, A and B. Five (5) boats are required to come to the starting area for each scheduled race in order to constitute a division eligible for a separate start.
- 2.3 Eligible boats may enter the series online at www.nhyc.org by completing the entry form prior to a boat's first race. Sail number changes must be reported in writing to the Race Office, prior to racing with the new sail number.

3. SCHEDULE

Regatta Date	Scheduled first warning signal
November 2, 2014	1300
December 7, 2014	1300
January 11, 2015	1300
February 8, 2015	1300

4. VENUE AND COURSES

Races will be conducted in the harbor north of the NHYC Main Dock. The courses for all classes will be windward-leeward type courses or any variation of a triangular or other course.

5. SAILING INSTRUCTIONS

The sailing instructions will be available by 1200 hours on Friday, October 31, 2014 on the online notice board (www.nhyc.org) and at Newport Harbor Yacht Club.

6. SCORING

- 6.1 Scoring will be in accordance with RRS Appendix A. RRS A9 will apply.
- 6.2 Four (4) races shall be completed to constitute a series.

When 'X' number of races have been completed	A boat's series score will be the total of her races scores excluding 'X" number of scores
4 or fewer	0
5 - 7	1
8 - 10	2
11 or more	3

7. TROPHIES

- 7.1 Overall trophies will be awarded at NHYC on February 8, 2015 after racing.
- 7.2 The Ted Munroe Perpetual Trophy will be awarded to the overall winners of the Harbor 20 A. B. and C classes.
- 7.3 The St. Cicero Trophy will be awarded to the daily winner of the L12A class for the November 2nd race day.
- 7.4 The Ken Davis Trophy will be awarded to the daily winner of the L12A class for the December 7th race day.
- 7.5 The Harry Mann Trophy will be awarded to the daily winner of the L12A class for the January 11th race day.
- 7.6 Humphrey Bogart Trophy will be awarded to the daily winner of the L12A class for the February 8th race day.

8. DISCLAIMER

Sailing is an activity that has an inherent risk of damage and injury. Competitors in these series participate entirely at their own risk. See RRS 4, Decision to Race. The race organizers (OA, Ratings Authority, Race Committee, Protest Committee, host club, sponsors, or any other organization or official) will not be responsible for damage to any boat or other property or the injury to any competitor, including death, sustained as a result of participation in this race. By participating in this race, each competitor agrees to release the race organizers from any and all liability associated with such competitor's participation in this event to the fullest extent permitted by law.

END