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Tacking in the Zone – Starboard-hand Windward Mark 

Rule 13       While Tacking 

Rule 18.2       Giving Mark-Room 

Rule 21       Exoneration 

Definitions  Mark-Room 

  

Question 1 

B on starboard tack and Y on port tack are approaching a windward mark to be left to starboard.  B luffs and 

passes head-to-wind at position 3.  B continues turning to sail towards the mark but does not reach a close-hauled 

course, and Y luffs to avoid contact.  There is a protest.  What should the call be?  

 

Answer 1 

No Penalty. 

After B passes head-to-wind she is on the same tack as Y, is overlapped on the inside of Y, and is sailing to the 

mark.  Y owes B mark-room under rule 18.2(a), which includes room to sail to the mark and round it as necessary 

to sail the course.  Y changes course and gives B mark-room.    

B is in the act of tacking and has not reached a close-hauled course, and is therefore subject to rule 13.  When Y 

has to change course to avoid contact with B at position 4, B breaks rule 13.   However, B is exonerated under 

rule 21(a) because she is sailing within the mark-room to which she is entitled. 

Question 2 

Would the answer to Question 1 change if after B passes head to wind in the zone she is not fetching the mark? 

Answer 2 

No. However, B is only permitted to sail up to head to wind as part of her entitled mark-room. Once she passes 

head to wind from port to starboard tack, her right to mark-room under rule 18.2(a) ceases to apply (see rules 

18.1(a) and 18.2(d)). 


